Explore This Section

Held annually on the campus of Eastern New Mexico University, Portales, New Mexico since 1958, The Southeastern New Mexico Regional Student Research Challenge (formally The Southeastern New Mexico Regional Science and Engineering fair) is one of six regional fairs in New Mexico, covering Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Eddy, Lea, Lincoln and Roosevelt counties. Top winners of this fair earn a spot at the New Mexico State Science and Engineering Fair, held at New Mexico Tech; and the grand prize winner earns an all-expense-paid trip to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (held in a different U.S. city each year).

Students in grades 6-12 are eligible to enter and compete to win awards by presenting their projects to judges who are experts in that field of study. Students excel by becoming experts themselves in the area they choose. Science and engineering fairs encourage students to take initiative, learn, and become leaders, researchers and teachers. Participation not only motivates students to take interest in science, mathematics and technology, but also stimulates excitement and confidence from the recognition and support they receive by parents, sponsors and judges.

The Southeastern New Mexico Regional Student Research Challenge (SENMSRC) is an affiliated member of the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) and the Society for Science and the Public. As a member, SENMSEF receives donations and awards from affiliated foundations through ISEF, such as:

  • Mu Alpha Theta Award
  • National Oceanic and Atmosphere Administration
  • National Society of Professional Engineers
  • RICOH Americas Corporation
  • Society for In Vitro Biology
  • United States Army Special Awards
  • U.S. Metric Association
  • Office of Naval Research
  • Yale Science and Engineering Award

**Large parts of donations are also contributed by local businesses that support the advancement of young scientists and engineers for the future. Please visit our Awards and Donations page to become an Award Sponsor.