The Intensive English Program is a summer program designed for international college students seeking to improve their academic English language skills at an American University. Goals include improvement in overall abilities in both spoken and written English, as well as understanding of Southwestern U.S. culture.

Program Dates: July 6–31, 2020

Application Opens: Friday, Nov. 15, 2019

Application Deadline: Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Spaces are limited: early applications encouraged

Summer Intensive English Program Application

Goals

At the beginning of the program, students take a practice TOEFL Exam to determine levels.

  • Build confidence while communicating
  • Socialize and network with greater confidence
  • Expand vocabulary
  • Improve understanding of grammar
  • Improve written English

Schedule

MTWR (Class time) 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. (20 clock hours) + Friday and Saturday (Trips and traveling) = 20+ hours a week of contact time.

Week 1

  • Monday, July 6 – Class 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 7 – Class 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 8 – Class 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 9 – No Class
  • Friday, July 10 – Excursion
  • Saturday, July 11 – Excursion
  • Sunday, July 12 – Excursion

Week 2

  • Monday, July 13 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 14 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 15 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 16 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Friday, July 17 – Excursion
  • Saturday, July 18 – Excursion
  • Sunday, July 19 – Excursion

Week 3

  • Monday, July 20 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 21 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 22 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 23 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Friday, July 24 – Excursion
  • Saturday, July 25 – Excursion
  • Sunday, July 26 – Excursion

Week 4

  • Monday, July 27 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 28 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 29 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 30 – Class 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Friday, July 31 – Excursion
  • Saturday, Aug. 1 – Excursion
  • Sunday, Aug. 2 – Excursion

*Excursions will be based on participant interests and travel availability and may include destinations like: Santa Fe, Carlsbad, Roswell, Gila Cliff Dwellings, Las Cruces, White Sands, Albuquerque, Ruidoso, Taos, Palo Duro, etc.

Estimated Expenses for 4-Week Summer English Course

ExpenseCost
Tuition and Fees
Based on summer 2019 prices.
$1,056
Room $480
Board $392
Excursions $1,000
TOEFL Exam $205
Total Cost (not including health/medical insurance or personal costs): $3,133

Estimated Personal Costs (Excursion meals, supplies and souvenirs): $500
Health/Medical Insurance (Paid to a third party; list provided on request): $50+

Summer Intensive English Program Application


For More Information Contact

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
American Language and Culture Director/Instructor
Jack Williamson Liberal Arts (JWLA), Room 113A
575.562.2987