ENMU Band Director's Hall of Fame

Background and Purpose

Established in April 2019, the ENMU Band Director's Hall of Fame recognizes retired high school, middle school or elementary school band directors who have demonstrated excellence in the field of instrumental music education over a sustained period.

Each year, the ENMU Band Director Workshop invites public school band directors and hosts an esteemed clinician/conductor on campus for clinic sessions and a formal concert. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held during the culminating concert, generally scheduled for the first Sunday of the month of March at 3 p.m. in Buchanan Hall.

The plaque and photo gallery for the ENMU Band Director's Hall of Fame is located in the Floren Thompson Jr. Band Hall in the Music Building (MB), Room 136.

Sponsoring Organizations

ENMU Bands and Beta Lambda Chapter, Kappa Kappa Psi National Honorary Band Fraternity


YearInducteeSchool Affiliation(s)
2020 Mr. Pat Henry Carlsbad and Portales Municipal Schools
2020 Mr. Norvil Howell Clovis Municipal Schools
2021 Mr. Van Ragsdale Clovis Municipal and Alamogordo Public Schools; Ector County, Midland, Klein, Eanes, and Arlington (TX) Independent School Districts
2021 Mr. Jim Young Los Alamos, Alamogordo, and Las Cruces Public Schools; Durango (CO) Public Schools
2023 Mr. David Allen Clayton, Hobbs, and Lovington Municipal Schools

Nomination Process

To nominate a candidate for induction in the ENMU Band Director's Hall of Fame send a cover letter and complete resume listing the candidate's service and achievements to:

ENMU Band Director's Hall of Fame
ATTN: Dustin Seifert
ENMU Station 16
1500 S Ave K
Portales, NM 88130


Email [email protected], use subject line: ENMU Band Director's Hall of Fame.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Candidate must be a graduate (with a bachelor's and/or master's degree) of Eastern New Mexico University.
  2. Candidate must be a retired director with the majority of their teaching occurring at the elementary, middle or high school level – not at the collegiate/university level.

ENMU Band Director's Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Tracy Carr
Emily Salgado
Richard Schwartz
Dustin Seifert, chair
Pamela Shuler
Sidney Shuler

Connect with us on Social Media

ENMU Department of Music Facebook   ENMU Department of Music Youtube

For More Information

Department of Music
ENMU Station 16
1500 S Ave K
Portales, NM 88130
800.FOR.ENMU (800.367.3668)
Phone: 575.562.2377
Fax: 575.562.4480