The University House (UH), the president’s residence, has had a rich history since the acquisition of the property in 1968. The first resident of the house was Dallan Sanders, who was the director of housing at the time. The house was then passed down to various University presidents, including Dr. Charles Meister, who moved into the house with his family in 1973.
Since then, the house has been home to many University presidents and their families, including the Armstrongs, Mathenys, Bonds, Frosts, Gambles, Ellwells, Caldwells, and now Johnstons. The house has also been a site for various University gatherings, including the Burying of Beef Alumni Event, which started in 1977.
In the early 1990s, during Dr. Frost's tenure, an addition was built that increased the square footage of the house to approximately 5,000 square feet. In 2021, the house underwent a major renovation that included redoing the roof and the exterior of the house, at a cost of $650,000.
Prior to the acquisition of the current presidential residence, the University had three other presidential residences located at 1500 S. Ave. A, 1532 West 17th Lane, and 227 S. Ave. K. The purpose of the presidential residence is to provide a welcoming space for students, staff, alumni, and friends, and to allow the University president to live close to the University to further ENMU's goals.